February 17


Guide my steps by your word, so I will not be overcome by evil.

Read Psalm 119:133, NLT

 
Many Christians believe that they are supposed to be and do good to make God happy. They have this backwards. God isn’t trying to have His way for His sake. He isn’t constantly measuring us and ever-ready to zap us if we miss the mark. The truth is, God has set before us a clean, clear path, covered it with His protection, and provided a Guide to ensure our safety. When we step off that path and fail to follow the leading of our Guide, we get into trouble. Do you see that it‘s not for God’s sake that we are called to obey? It’s for our greatest good. Tremendous joy in life’s magnificent journey is experienced by following our “owner’s manual”, the Word of God. Read Proverbs while you’re unemployed. Take some time to study this manual for life. You need it to get you through unharmed. Then you will obey God out of your great love for Him and thanks for how He cares for you.

 

WORDS OF FAITH:

I choose to obey God at all times.

By faith I receive guidance and direction from the Word and I am kept in safety.

God’s instructions are for my sake and in His Word I find all that I need for daily life.

 

SEEK

